Hunting down the Society’s Rare Releases

The Society is ready to let loose six exclusive festival bottlings. Spirits Manager Euan Campbell explains how we created them, and why you need to track them down.

The Scotch Malt Whisky Society was formed to celebrate the joy in sharing exceptional whisky – and there’s nothing quite like the festival month of May to demonstrate that our founding principle is not only alive and kicking – it’s bigger and more all-encompassing than ever.

A lucky few from our global membership will be heading to the different whisky regions in May to take part in tastings, dinners and parties, celebrating the contribution each of these areas has made to the wider world of whisky.

The Society will be there, of course, but we wanted to make sure that as many of our members as possible – whether they are physically present at the festivals or not – could get to share the experience in their glasses, wherever you might be.

An inclusive approach

With that in mind, we’re taking a different approach this year with our exclusive range of ‘Rare Releases’ festival bottlings, creating a series of six small batch single malts that we’ll be able to share in greater quantities across our global membership than we could ever hope to do with bottlings from a single cask.

And we’re not only celebrating the physical festivals taking place again throughout May this year in Speyside, Campbeltown and Islay. Even if the Highlands and Lowlands aren’t holding their own events, we didn’t want to neglect these regions, and have bottled single malts from both areas so that we can offer festival bottlings from across the five whisky regions.

Expanding horizons

All six whiskies are single malts from an individual distillery, bottled at their natural strength and across a range of flavour profiles – even the two Peated bottlings from Islay show distinct characteristics. In the development of each, we decided what flavour profile we were looking to showcase and then looked at how we were going to achieve it by working with loads of samples, nosing and tasting our way through them, grouping them and then deciding what we thought worked best.

We’ve been able to work with a wide variety of cask types to nudge our recipes in the right direction as well, and these small batch single malts are great examples of how that variety of wood types also helps to give us an infinite number of flavours to play with. That could be in some examples by getting the full impact of one cask type, or in others by using a mix of bourbon and sherry wood to create something completely different. Characterful spirit and characterful casks make for an incredible combination and helps us to continue to expand our horizons.

A festival within a festival

You can think of it as a ‘festival within a festival’, where we’re hunting down flavours and characteristics from across the regions. You can judge for yourself how typical or not they may be of the regions they come from – or whether that’s of any importance. What matters to us is that as many of you as possible, from Scotland to Australia, Japan to the United States and beyond, get the chance to share these sensational drams – and if you can’t make it over here this year, at least you’re getting a taste to transport you.

Cheers,

Euan Campbell
SMWS Spirits Manager

DISTILLERY 93 RARE RELEASE: Changes faster than a chameleon

In celebration of the Campbeltown Malts Festival 2022

»Campbeltown currently feels like a region in the renaissance, with news of new distilleries being planned, and we wanted to explore the town’s historic reputation for rich, characterful spirit. This is firmly in our Oily & Coastal flavour profile that is often associated with Campbeltown. There is no peat influence but still a coastal salinity, while the first fill bourbon barrels bring a lovely woody influence with vanilla and spice to balance everything beautifully.”

Order here (from 20 May 1 pm, for members only)

DISTILLERY 19 RARE RELEASE: Hazelnut bubble gum

In celebration of the Highland Whisky Festival 2022

»The whole notion of whisky regions is open to interpretation, but if you were to imagine a classic unpeated Highland style, then this is it – it’s in our Spicy & Dry flavour profile, with a rich mouthfeel and full of wonderful fruity esters.”

Order here (from 13 May 1 pm, for members only)

DISTILLERY 5 RARE RELEASE: LIME AND THYME

In celebration of the Lowland Spirit 2022

»This has everything you would expect of an elegant, older Lowland whisky – in this case it’s triple distilled, with narrow cut points and matured in active bourbon wood to bring a classic and delicious Sweet, Fruity & Mellow flavour profile.”

Order here (from 6 May 1 pm, for members only)

DISTILLERY 36 RARE RELEASE: A REWARD FOR PATIENCE

In celebration of the Spirit of Speyside Whisky Festival 2022

»There’s a beautiful balance to this, which was first matured in bourbon hogsheads before we transferred it to 125-litre oloroso quarter casks that were supplied to us by our partners in Jerez, José y Miguel Martin. After that, we put it back into second fill bourbon barrels that we’d recently emptied, giving it time to relax and marry before bottling. The result is a superb dram with the big, dark and intense flavours you would associate with oloroso sherry maturation, but with the lush tropical notes from the bourbon casks as well.”

Order here (from 29 april 1 pm, for members only)

À l’affût des Rare Releases de la Society

La Société s’apprête à lancer six embouteillages exclusifs pour le festival. Euan Campbell, responsable des spiritueux, explique comment nous les avons créés et pourquoi vous devez ne pas les laisser vous échapper.

La Scotch Malt Whisky Society a été créée pour célébrer la joie de partager des whiskies exceptionnels. Rien de tel que le mois de mai pour montrer que ce principe fondateur continue de nous animer, non seulement bien vivant, mais encore plus grand et plus actif que jamais.

Quelques chanceux parmi nos membres du monde entier se rendront dans les différentes régions de whisky en mai pour participer à des dégustations, des dîners et des fêtes, afin de célébrer la contribution de chacune de ces régions au monde du whisky.

La Société sera présente, bien sûr, mais nous voulions aussi nous assurer que le plus grand nombre possible de nos membres, qu’ils soient physiquement présents aux festivals ou non, puissent partager l’expérience dans leur verre, où qu’ils se trouvent.

Une approche inclusive

Pour cela, nous avons adopté une approche différente cette année avec notre gamme exclusive d’embouteillages du festival « Rare Releases », en créant une série de six single malts « small batch ». Nous pourrons ainsi les partager en plus grande quantité avec nos membres du monde entier. Une opération d’envergure qui n’aurait pas été possible avec des embouteillages à partir d’un seul fût.

Et nous ne nous contentons pas de célébrer les festivals en présentiel qui se déroulent cette année encore tout au long du mois de mai dans le Speyside, à Campbeltown et à Islay. Même si les Highlands et les Lowlands n’organisent pas leurs propres événements, nous n’avons pas voulu les oublier. Nous avons donc mis en bouteille des single malts de ces deux régions afin de pouvoir proposer des embouteillages de festival provenant des cinq régions de whisky.

Élargir les horizons

Ces six whiskies sont des single malts provenant chacun d’une distillerie particulière, embouteillés à leur degré naturel et présentant des profils gustatifs différents. À tel point que même les deux embouteillages tourbés d’Islay présentent des caractéristiques distinctes. Pour réaliser chacun de ces whiskies, nous avons choisi un profil aromatique que nous voulions mettre en valeur. Puis, durant leur élaboration, nous avons testé de nombreux échantillons pour atteindre précisément notre objectif, en les dégustant, en les regroupant et en décidant de ce qui nous semblait le plus approprié.

Nous avons pu travailler avec une grande variété de types de fûts pour ajuster nos recettes dans la direction souhaitée, et ces single malts produits en petites quantités (« small batch ») sont de parfaits exemples de la façon dont la diversité des bois nous permet de jouer avec un nombre infini de saveurs. Nous avons pu ainsi aussi bien exploiter pleinement l’impact d’un seul type de fût ou, dans d’autres, utiliser un mélange de bois bourbon / sherry pour créer quelque chose de complètement nouveau. Les alcools de caractère et les fûts à forte personnalité forment une combinaison incroyable qui nous aident à continuer à élargir nos horizons.

Un festival dans le festival

Vous pouvez voir cela comme un « festival dans le festival », une exploration, à la découverte des saveurs et des caractéristiques de toutes les régions. Vous pouvez juger par vous-même, si vous les trouver typiques ou non de leur région d’origine, ou simplement enrichir votre expérience avec des whiskies nouveaux. Ce qui nous importe, c’est que le plus grand nombre possible d’entre vous, de l’Écosse à l’Australie, du Japon aux États-Unis et même au-delà, aient la chance de partager ces drams exceptionnels. Et si vous ne pouvez pas venir cette année, vous aurez au moins la chance d’en avoir un avant-goût.

Cheers,

Euan Campbell
SMWS Spirits Manager

DISTILLERY 93 RARE RELEASE: Change plus vite qu’un caméléon

Pour célébrer le Campbeltown Malts Festival 2022

«En ce moment, Campbeltown donne l’impression d’être une région en pleine renaissance, avec des projets de nouvelles distilleries. Nous voulions explorer la réputation historique de la ville pour ses alcools riches et puissants. Ce whisky s’inscrit dans le profil aromatique Oily & Coastal, souvent associé à Campbeltown. S’il n’y a pas d’influence de la tourbe, on sent bien la salinité côtière à laquelle les fûts first fill bourbon apportent leur belle influence boisée, avec de la vanille et des épices pour équilibrer le tout de belle manière.»

Commander (à partir du 20.5. 13 h, pour membres)

DISTILLERY 19 RARE RELEASE: Bubble Gum à la noisette

Pour célébrer le Highland Whisky Festival 2022

«La notion de «région de whisky» reste ouverte à l’interprétation, mais s’il fallait synthétiser les Highlands dans un style classique unique non tourbé, cette région n’aurait pas de meilleur représentant que ce whisky. il correspond à notre profil aromatique Spicy & Dry, avec une bouche riche et pleine de merveilleux esters fruités.»

Commander (à partir du 13.5. 13 h, pour membres)

DISTILLERY 5 RARE RELEASE: Citron vert et thym

Pour célébrer le Lowland Spirit 2022

«Ce whisky a tout ce que vous pouvez attendre d’un Lowland élégant et plus âgé. Il est triplement distillé, taillé étroit, et mûri dans du bois de bourbon actif pour offrir un profil aromatique Sweet, Fruity & Mellow classique et délicieux.»

Commander (à partir du 6.5. 13 h, pour membres)

DISTILLERY 36 RARE RELEASE: Pour récompenser la patience

Pour célébrer le Spirit of Speyside Whisky Festival 2022

Il y a un bel équilibre dans ce whisky, qui a d’abord été élevé en bourbon hogsheads avant d’être transféré dans des oloroso quarter casks de 125 litres fournis par nos partenaires de Jerez, José y Miguel Martin. Ensuite, nous l’avons remis dans des second fill bourbon barrels que nous avions récemment vidés, pour lui donner le temps de se détendre et de s’harmoniser avant la mise en bouteille. Le résultat est un dram superbe aux saveurs sombres et intenses que l’on associe à la maturation du sherry oloroso, mais aussi avec les notes tropicales luxuriantes des fûts à bourbon.

Commander (à partir du 29.4. 13 h, pour membres)