Hunting down the Society’s Rare Releases

The Society is ready to let loose six exclusive festival bottlings. Spirits Manager Euan Campbell explains how we created them, and why you need to track them down.

The Scotch Malt Whisky Society was formed to celebrate the joy in sharing exceptional whisky – and there’s nothing quite like the festival month of May to demonstrate that our founding principle is not only alive and kicking – it’s bigger and more all-encompassing than ever.

A lucky few from our global membership will be heading to the different whisky regions in May to take part in tastings, dinners and parties, celebrating the contribution each of these areas has made to the wider world of whisky.

The Society will be there, of course, but we wanted to make sure that as many of our members as possible – whether they are physically present at the festivals or not – could get to share the experience in their glasses, wherever you might be.

An inclusive approach

With that in mind, we’re taking a different approach this year with our exclusive range of ‘Rare Releases’ festival bottlings, creating a series of six small batch single malts that we’ll be able to share in greater quantities across our global membership than we could ever hope to do with bottlings from a single cask.

And we’re not only celebrating the physical festivals taking place again throughout May this year in Speyside, Campbeltown and Islay. Even if the Highlands and Lowlands aren’t holding their own events, we didn’t want to neglect these regions, and have bottled single malts from both areas so that we can offer festival bottlings from across the five whisky regions.

Expanding horizons

All six whiskies are single malts from an individual distillery, bottled at their natural strength and across a range of flavour profiles – even the two Peated bottlings from Islay show distinct characteristics. In the development of each, we decided what flavour profile we were looking to showcase and then looked at how we were going to achieve it by working with loads of samples, nosing and tasting our way through them, grouping them and then deciding what we thought worked best.

We’ve been able to work with a wide variety of cask types to nudge our recipes in the right direction as well, and these small batch single malts are great examples of how that variety of wood types also helps to give us an infinite number of flavours to play with. That could be in some examples by getting the full impact of one cask type, or in others by using a mix of bourbon and sherry wood to create something completely different. Characterful spirit and characterful casks make for an incredible combination and helps us to continue to expand our horizons.

A festival within a festival

You can think of it as a ‘festival within a festival’, where we’re hunting down flavours and characteristics from across the regions. You can judge for yourself how typical or not they may be of the regions they come from – or whether that’s of any importance. What matters to us is that as many of you as possible, from Scotland to Australia, Japan to the United States and beyond, get the chance to share these sensational drams – and if you can’t make it over here this year, at least you’re getting a taste to transport you.

Cheers,

Euan Campbell
SMWS Spirits Manager

DISTILLERY 93 RARE RELEASE: Changes faster than a chameleon

In celebration of the Campbeltown Malts Festival 2022

»Campbeltown currently feels like a region in the renaissance, with news of new distilleries being planned, and we wanted to explore the town’s historic reputation for rich, characterful spirit. This is firmly in our Oily & Coastal flavour profile that is often associated with Campbeltown. There is no peat influence but still a coastal salinity, while the first fill bourbon barrels bring a lovely woody influence with vanilla and spice to balance everything beautifully.”

Order here (from 20 May 1 pm, for members only)

DISTILLERY 19 RARE RELEASE: Hazelnut bubble gum

In celebration of the Highland Whisky Festival 2022

»The whole notion of whisky regions is open to interpretation, but if you were to imagine a classic unpeated Highland style, then this is it – it’s in our Spicy & Dry flavour profile, with a rich mouthfeel and full of wonderful fruity esters.”

Order here (from 13 May 1 pm, for members only)

DISTILLERY 5 RARE RELEASE: LIME AND THYME

In celebration of the Lowland Spirit 2022

»This has everything you would expect of an elegant, older Lowland whisky – in this case it’s triple distilled, with narrow cut points and matured in active bourbon wood to bring a classic and delicious Sweet, Fruity & Mellow flavour profile.”

Order here (from 6 May 1 pm, for members only)

DISTILLERY 36 RARE RELEASE: A REWARD FOR PATIENCE

In celebration of the Spirit of Speyside Whisky Festival 2022

»There’s a beautiful balance to this, which was first matured in bourbon hogsheads before we transferred it to 125-litre oloroso quarter casks that were supplied to us by our partners in Jerez, José y Miguel Martin. After that, we put it back into second fill bourbon barrels that we’d recently emptied, giving it time to relax and marry before bottling. The result is a superb dram with the big, dark and intense flavours you would associate with oloroso sherry maturation, but with the lush tropical notes from the bourbon casks as well.”

Order here (from 29 april 1 pm, for members only)

Auf der Jagd nach den «Rare Releases» der SMWS

Die Society wird demnächst sechs exklusive Festivalabfüllungen in Umlauf bringen. Unser Spirits Manager Euan Campbell erklärt, wie wir sie kreiert haben und warum Sie sich diese keinesfalls entgehen lassen sollten.

Die Scotch Malt Whisky Society wurde gegründet, um den Genuss von aussergewöhnlichem Whisky zu zelebrieren – und es gibt nichts Besseres als den Wonnemonat Mai mit all seinen Festivals, um zu zeigen, dass unser Gründungsprinzip nicht nur lebendig ist – sondern sogar erfolgreicher und weitreichender als je zuvor.

Einige Glückliche aus unserer weltweiten Gemeinschaft werden im Mai in die verschiedenen Whisky-Regionen reisen, um an Verkostungen, Abendessen und Partys teilzunehmen und damit die Bedeutung jeder dieser Regionen für die Welt des Whiskys zu feiern.

Auch die SMWS wird selbstverständlich dort vertreten sein, aber es ist uns wichtig, dass möglichst viele unserer Mitglieder – unabhängig davon, ob sie die Festivals persönlich besuchen oder nicht – eine Kostprobe dieser Veranstaltungen geniessen können.

Ein inklusiver Ansatz

Aus diesem Grund werden wir dieses Jahr mit unserer exklusiven Reihe von «Rare Releases»-Festivalabfüllungen neue Wege erkunden und eine Serie von sechs Single Malts in kleinen Chargen kreieren. Diese können wir in grösseren Mengen an unsere Mitglieder weltweit weitergeben, als dies mit Abfüllungen aus einem Single Cask je möglich wäre.

Ausserdem feiern wir nicht nur die Festivals vor Ort, die dieses Jahr im Mai wieder in Speyside, Campbeltown und Islay stattfinden. Obwohl die Highlands und Lowlands keine eigenen Veranstaltungen ausrichten, wollten wir diese Regionen nicht aussen vor lassen und haben Single Malts aus beiden Regionen abgefüllt, sodass wir Festivalabfüllungen aus allen fünf Whiskyregionen anbieten können.

Den Horizont erweitern

Alle sechs Whiskys sind Single Malts aus unterschiedlichen Brennereien, die in ihrer natürlichen Stärke abgefüllt wurden und mit unterschiedlichsten Geschmacksprofilen begeistern – selbst die beiden getorften Abfüllungen von der Insel Islay weisen unterschiedliche Eigenschaften auf. Bei der Konzipierung jedes einzelnen Produkts haben wir uns überlegt, welches Geschmacksprofil wir präsentieren wollen. Dann haben wir geschaut, wie wir dieses Ziel erreichen können, indem wir Geruch und Geschmack einer Vielzahl von Proben erkundet, sie gruppiert und dann entschieden haben, was unserer Meinung nach am besten funktioniert.

Wir konnten eine Vielzahl von Fasstypen nutzen, um unsere Mischungen optimal zu verfeinern. Diese Small Batch Single Malts sind ein grossartiges Beispiel dafür, wie es die Vielfalt an verschiedenen Holzarten ermöglicht, mit einer unendlichen Anzahl von Aromen zu spielen. Das kann zum Beispiel bedeuten, dass man die volle Wirkung eines bestimmten Fasses ausnutzt, oder dass man eine Mischung aus Bourbon- und Sherryholz verwendet, um einen völlig anderen Geschmack zu kreieren. Charaktervolle Spirituosen und charaktervolle Fässer ergeben eine unglaubliche Kombination und helfen uns, unseren Horizont ständig zu erweitern.

Ein «Festival auf einem Festival»

Stellen Sie es sich als «Festival auf einem Festival» vor, bei dem Sie sich auf die Jagd nach unterschiedlichsten Geschmacksrichtungen und Eigenschaften der einzelnen Regionen begeben. Urteilen Sie selbst, wie typisch oder untypisch sie für die Regionen sind, aus denen sie stammen – und ob das überhaupt von Bedeutung ist. Für uns ist es wichtig, dass so viele von Ihnen wie möglich, von Schottland bis Australien, von Japan bis in die Vereinigten Staaten und darüber hinaus, die Chance bekommen, diese spektakulären Drams zu geniessen – und wenn Sie es dieses Jahr nicht hierher schaffen, bekommen Sie zumindest eine Kostprobe, die Sie gedanklich auf Reisen mitnimmt.

Cheers,

Euan Campbell
SMWS Spirits Manager

DISTILLERY 93 RARE RELEASE: Ein Chamäleon ist nichts dagegen

Anlässlich des Campbeltown Malts Festivals  2022

«Campbeltown fühlt sich derzeit wie eine Region in der Renaissance an, da Nachrichten über neu geplante Brennereien die Runde machen. Wir wollten den historischen Ruf der Stadt für reichhaltige, charaktervolle Spirituosen erkunden. Er gehört eindeutig zu unserem «Ölig und maritim»-Geschmacksprofil, das oft mit Campbeltown in Verbindung gebracht wird. Hier gibt es keinen Torfeinfluss, aber immer noch einen salzigen Küstencharakter, während die Bourbonfässer der ersten Abfüllung einen schönen holzigen Einfluss mit Vanille und Gewürzen bringen, der alles wunderbar ausgleicht.»

Hier bestellen (ab 20.5., 13:00 für Mitglieder)

 

DISTILLERY 19 RARE RELEASE: Haselnuss-Bubblegum

Anlässlich des Highland Whisky Festivals 2022

«Der Begriff «Whisky-Regionen» lässt viel Spielraum für Interpretationen, aber wenn man sich einen klassischen, ungetorften Highland-Stil vorstellt, dann ist es dieser – er gehört zu unserem würzigen und trockenen Geschmacksprofil, mit einem reichhaltigen Mundgefühl und voll von wunderbaren fruchtigen Estern.»

Hier bestellen (ab 13.5., 13:00 für Mitglieder)

 

DISTILLERY 5 RARE RELEASE: Limone und Thymian

Anlässlich des Lowland Spirit 2022

«Dieser Whisky bietet alles, was man von einem eleganten, älteren Lowland-Whisky erwarten würde – in diesem Fall wurde er dreifach destilliert, mit engen Schnittpunkten und in aktivem Bourbonholz gereift, um ein klassisches und köstliches süsses, fruchtiges und weiches Geschmacksprofil zu erhalten.»

Hier bestellen (ab 6.5., 13:00 für Mitglieder)

 

DISTILLERY 36 RARE RELEASE: Lohn der Geduld

Anlässlich des Spirit of Speyside Whisky Festivals 2022

«Er hat eine wunderbare Ausgewogenheit. Er reifte zunächst in Bourbon-Hogsheads, bevor wir ihn in 125-Liter-Oloroso-Viertel-Fässer umfüllten, die uns von unseren Partnern in Jerez, José y Miguel Martin, zur Verfügung gestellt wurden. Danach füllten wir ihn wieder in Bourbon-Fässer, die wir kürzlich geleert hatten, um ihm Zeit zu geben, sich zu entspannen und zu mischen, bevor er abgefüllt wurde. Das Ergebnis ist ein hervorragender Dram mit den grossen, dunklen und intensiven Aromen, die man bei der Oloroso-Sherry-Reifung erwartet, aber auch mit den üppigen tropischen Noten der Bourbon-Fässer.»

Hier bestellen (ab 29.4., 13:00 für Mitglieder)