This September is entirely dedicated to the 25th anniversary of the Swiss branch of the Society. I am already looking forward to welcoming over 200 participants to the four tastings. At the same time, I apologise to those who were unable to get hold of any tickets; I was also surprised by how quickly some dates sold out. However, there will be a further 11 tastings before the end of the year, and there are still plenty of free spaces.

The fact that the days are drawing in is also an unmistakable sign that another year is coming to an end. Having got the basics working, I have created a whisky calendar for this year. Enjoy a variety of drams over 25 days, all aged between 8 and 37 years, and representing all 12 of the Society’s taste profiles. These can now be ordered, with shipping taking place by 1 October at the latest.

In this newsletter, we are also presenting the first two bottlings from the Vaults Collection 2019. 20.25: My God, it’s full of stars! is a 30-year-old Lowland with a Spicy & Sweet taste profile; whilst 35.235: Frankly exquisite is a 31-year-old Speyside from the Deep, Rich & Dried Fruits category. Rarities such as these do have their price – however, we will probably be the last generation of whisky lovers to have access to whiskies from the 1980s.

And finally, I have also got hold of a few bottles of Cask No. 53.300: Unbridled joy; this whisky comes from one of our members’ favourite distilleries, and is the 300th cask which has been bottled from them!

So, in this spirit, to the next 25 years of the Society in Switzerland!

Patric Lutz
SMWS Switzerland llc

Le mois de septembre est entièrement consacré au 25e anniversaire de la branche suisse de la Society. J’ai déjà hâte d’accueillir les plus de 200 participants aux quatre dégustations. En même temps, je m’excuse auprès de ceux qui n’ont pas pu se procurer de places ; j’ai moi-même été surpris de la rapidité avec laquelle les différentes dates ont été complètes. D’ici la fin de l’année, 11 autres dégustations sont proposées dans différentes villes de Suisse.

Les jours raccourcissent, montrant indubitablement qu’une autre année touche à sa fin. Maintenant que les bases fonctionnent, j’ai créé un autre calendrier de whisky pour cette année. Profitez de 25 jours de drams variés, entre 8 et 37 ans et représentant les 12 profils aromatiques de la Society. Vous pouvez les commander immédiatement, la livraison aura lieu à partir du 1er octobre.

Dans cette newsletter, nous vous présentons également les deux premières mises en bouteille de la Vaults Collection 2019. Le 20.25: Mon Dieu, il y a plein d’étoiles! est un lowland de 30 ans d’âge au profil epicé et sucré ; et le 35.235: Franchement exquis est un speyside de 31 ans d’âge dans la catégorie profond, riche et fruits secs. Le prix de ces raretés est à leur mesure, mais nous faisons probablement partie de la dernière génération d’amateurs de whisky qui auront encore accès aux whiskies des années 1980.

Et enfin, j’ai aussi reçu quelques bouteilles du Fût n° 53.300: Joie effrénée ; ce whisky provient d’une distillerie très appréciée par nos membres : c’est déjà le 300e fût !

Alors, levons nos verres aux 25 prochaines années de la Society en Suisse !

Patric Lutz
SMWS Switzerland llc