This September is entirely dedicated to the 25th anniversary of the Swiss branch of the Society. I am already looking forward to welcoming over 200 participants to the four tastings. At the same time, I apologise to those who were unable to get hold of any tickets; I was also surprised by how quickly some dates sold out. However, there will be a further 11 tastings before the end of the year, and there are still plenty of free spaces.

The fact that the days are drawing in is also an unmistakable sign that another year is coming to an end. Having got the basics working, I have created a whisky calendar for this year. Enjoy a variety of drams over 25 days, all aged between 8 and 37 years, and representing all 12 of the Society’s taste profiles. These can now be ordered, with shipping taking place by 1 October at the latest.

In this newsletter, we are also presenting the first two bottlings from the Vaults Collection 2019. 20.25: My God, it’s full of stars! is a 30-year-old Lowland with a Spicy & Sweet taste profile; whilst 35.235: Frankly exquisite is a 31-year-old Speyside from the Deep, Rich & Dried Fruits category. Rarities such as these do have their price – however, we will probably be the last generation of whisky lovers to have access to whiskies from the 1980s.

And finally, I have also got hold of a few bottles of Cask No. 53.300: Unbridled joy; this whisky comes from one of our members’ favourite distilleries, and is the 300th cask which has been bottled from them!

So, in this spirit, to the next 25 years of the Society in Switzerland!

Patric Lutz
SMWS Switzerland llc

Der September steht ganz und gar unter dem Zeichen des 25 jährigen Bestehens des Schweizer Ablegers der Society. Ich freue mich bereits die über 200 Teilnehmer an den vier Degustationen zu begrüssen. Gleichzeitig entschuldige ich mich bei denen, die keine Tickets mehr ergattern konnten; auch ich war überrascht wie schnell einzelne Daten ausgebucht waren. Bis Ende Jahr hat es aber weitere 11 Degustationstermine und überall noch freie Plätze.

Die kürzer werdenden Tage sind auch ein untrügliches Zeichen, dass ein weiteres Jahr sich dem Ende zuneigt. Nachdem die Basics nun funktionieren, habe ich für dieses Jahr wiederum einen Whiskykalender kreiert. Geniessen Sie 25 Tage lang abwechselnde Drams, zwischen 8 und 37 Jahre alt und aus allen 12 Geschmacksprofilen der Society. Sie können diese ab sofort bestellen, die Auslieferung erfolgt spätestens ab 1. Oktober.

In diesem Newsletter präsentieren wir Ihnen zudem die ersten zwei Abfüllungen der Vaults Collection 2019. Beim 20.25: Stargate handelt es sich um einen 30 jährigen Lowland des Profils Würzig und Süss; und beim 35.235: Einfach Exquisit um einen 31 jährigen Speyside der Kategorie Intensiv, üppig und Trockenobst. Diese Raritäten haben einen entsprechenden Preis – wir werden aber wohl zur letzten Generation Whiskygeniesser gehören, die überhaupt noch Zugang zu Whiskys aus den 1980er Jahren haben wird.

Und schlussendlich habe ich auch noch ein paar Flaschen vom Fass 53.300: Ungezügelte Freude bekommen; dieser Whisky kommt von einer Brennerei die bei den Mitgliedern zu den allerbeliebtesten gehört es ist bereits das 300ste Fass!

In diesem Sinne auf die nächsten 25 Jahre Society in der Schweiz!

Patric Lutz
SMWS Switzerland llc